The pit lane drag strip roared to life under the lights as drivers vied for championship points for the third time this season at the O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags. Eighteen racing divisions went head-to-head in one of the largest organized street-style drag racing series in the nation, with single-elimination competition determining each winner. Vehicles ranging from souped-up muscle cars all the way down to factory cars and daily drivers saw action.

Kelly Morgan of Jonesboro and his 1968 Ford Mustang continued his dominance in the Street Modified division as he notched his second win of the points season.

"The car just ran pretty good tonight," said Morgan following his final round victory. "It was all tuned up and ready to go."

Morgan defeated the 2005 Ford Mustang of Nick Eversoll of Newton in the final.

And despite the rain out last week providing additional time to prepare, Morgan kept to his traditional pre-race preparation routine.

"I don't do anything [to prepare the car during the week]," Morgan explained, "I put everything off until Friday and do everything Friday afternoon."

It seems to work for Morgan as he also found victory lane in both of the season opening non-points races on May 11th and May 18th.

In the QuikTrip Pro Class, Kevin Mayo of McDonough remains unbeaten in the points season with his third consecutive win. The 1969 Chevrolet of Mayo tore off the line in the final and left no doubt as he defeated the 1970 Chevrolet Nova of Hamptons' Mark Buersehig.

Brandon Sampler of Griffin also notched his third consecutive win in the Street Performer class behind the wheel of his 1995 Chevrolet S10 to open up a wide margin atop the standings. Sampler defeated Charles Specht of Jonesboro in the final round for the second consecutive week.

Other notable winners include McDonough's Earl Blanford and his 1968 Ford F-150 in the Starfire Automatic Gates Truck division and Chandler Brewer of Peachtree City on his 20189 KTM 690 Duke in the US Marine Corps Motorcycle division.

Below is a complete list of the June 28 race winners:
Super Pro: Mike Chambers (Griffin), 2007 Chevy Camaro
QuikTrip Pro: Kevin Mayo (McDonough), 1969 Chevy Nova
Harbin's Mechanical Services Street Outlaw: Wayne Harris (Griffin), 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman: Richard Corcoran (Locust Grove), 1986 Ford Mustang
New Edge: James Walker (Fayetteville), 2016 Dodge Challenger
Street Performer: Brandon Sampler (Griffin), 1995 Chevrolet S-10
Harding Plumbing, Heating, and Cooling Domestic: Andrew Morgan (McDonough), 1987 Ford Mustang
Street Modified: Kelly Morgan (Jonesboro), 1968 Ford Mustang
Diamond Resorts Factory Street: Eric Samples (Hampton), 2018 Ford Mustang
Diesel Truck: Taylor Wilder (Locust Grove), 1994 Dodge Ram
Starfire Automatic Gates Truck: Ed Blanford (McDonough), 1968 Ford F-100
Tuner: Steven Mallet (Marietta), 2004 Subaru WRX
Sport Compact: Tyler Hatchett (Griffin), 1991 Honda CRX
Super Bike: Graham Mayo (Griffin), 2007 Hayabusa
Sport Bike: Bryan Berube (Stockbridge), 2013 Suzuki Hayabusa
US Marine Corps Motorcycle: Chandler Brewer (Peachtree City), 2018 KTM 690 Duke
Cruiser/Motorcycle: Robert Thomas (Griffin), Harley Davidson
ATV: Wayne Cline (Griffin), Yamaha Banshee
Peach Pass Burnout Zone: Raymond Puryear (Hampton), 1989 Ford Mustang

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1930s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Classic Custom (Through 1972)
First Place: Chad Smallwood (Newnan), 1968 Camaro RS/SS 391
Second Place: Charlie Warford (Zebulon), 66 Mustang Shelby 350
Third Place: Vincent Alfieri (McDonough), 1956 Ford Custom line

Showroom Mondern (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Chris Gallagher (Fayetteville), 1998 Trans AM
Second Place: Mark Wardord (Fayetteville) 1982 Corvette

Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Brady Adams(Fayetteville), 1981 Mustang cobra
Second Place: Jesse Lescueur(McDonough), 2006 Corvette
Third Place: Chandler Hatonett(Griffin), 1997 Mustang SVT Cobra

Current (2000 through current)
First Place: Family First Custom Creations (Covington), 16 SS Black Panther Camaro
Second Place: Andre Marshal (Decatur), Camaro SS
Third Place: June Jones (Newnan), Mustang

First Place: Chandler Smith(Pike), 2004 F250
Second Place: Terry Sark (Conyers), 2016 Ram 3500
Third Place: Bryce Calhoun (Griffin), 2013 Ram 1500

First Place: David Schallot (Griffin), 2000 Harley Davidson Road King
Second Place: Jonathan Small (Griffin), 1979 Honda 400
Third Place: Elijah M Voits (Senoia), 1990 BMY Harsco M923AZ Ston

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine returns to action on Independence Day for the Papa John's Pizza Fireworks Extravaganza. Next week for Week 8 action, the Series will run a special edition on Wednesday, July 4 and will NOT race on Friday, July 6th. Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m., and nightly drag race eliminations start just after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets are just $10, and children 5 and under are free. More information can be found at or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.