Week 3 of the popular street-style drag racing series, O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags, hit the pit lane drag strip at Atlanta Motor Speedway Friday night, as competitors continued to tune-up in preparation for the points season.

The notoriety of Friday Night Drags continues to grow. Nicholas Averhoft heard about the event for years and finally made the trip from Easley, South Carolina to compete for the first time.

"A friend runs a performance shop here and comes out [to AMS] every weekend to race," said Averhoft.

"I came all the way from South Carolina to race and bust some chops," he said with a chuckle.

Behind the wheel of a 2013 Ford Mustang V6 in the MetroPCS Tuner Class, Averhoft outran the field and defeated the 1983 Datsun of Marietta's Shane Kirkland in the final to earn a trip to victory lane.

It's a great experience and super fun," said Averhoft after driving into victory lane. "It's a lot different from where I'm from. There were some pretty fast cars out here tonight and it was great. I'm already talking about coming back."

Other notable winners include Andrew Morgan of McDonough's third consecutive victory in the HeadsUpGeorgia.com Street Modified Class. Robert Cheney of Stockbridge also found victory lane for the third consecutive week in the Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro Divison behind the wheel of his American Dragster with a final round win over Tony Byrd of Stockbridge. The 1981 Firebird piloted by Dale Rogers of Oxford also earned a third consecutive victory in the Active Pest Control class.

While some continue to dominate, other found victory lane for the first time this season. In addition to Averhoft's first trip to victory lane in the MetroPCS Tuner class, Keith Shockey of Fayetteville was a first time winner in 2016 in the Peach Pass Factory Street class in his 2015 SRT Challenger. Another first time winner included the 1987 Mustang of Jonesboro's Richard Riggi in the Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman class.

Below is a complete list of the May 13 race winners:

Harbin's Mechanical Services Super Pro: Robert Chaney (Stockbridge); 2012 American Dragster
Active Pest Control Pro: Dale Rodgers (Oxford); 1981 Firebird
Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman: Richard Riggi (Jonesboro); 1987 Mustang
Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic: Donnie Henderson (Hampton); 1980 Chevy Malibu
HeadsUpGeorgia.com Street Modified: Andrew Morgan (McDonough); 1987 Ford Mustang
Peach Pass Factory Street: Keith Shockey (Fayetteville); 15 SRT Challenger
MetroPCS Tuner: Nicholas Averhoft (Easley, SC); 2013 Ford Mustang V6
Street Outlaw: Robbie Blankinship (Jenkinsburg); 1986 Ford Mustang
Domestic Advanced: Walter Chambers (Conyers); 1971 Ford Torino
Truck Advanced: Jacob Mason (Locust Grove); 1968 Chevrolet C10
Diesel Truck: Dewayne Bethune (Covington); 2006 Dodge Ram 2500
Truck: Brian Leath (Hampton); 1976 Chevrolet C-10
Sport Compact: Tyler Winter (Fayetteville); 2013 Ford Mustang
Super Bike: Tony Freeman (Stockbridge); 2012 Suzuki
Sport Bike: Bryan Berube (Forest Park); 2006 Suzuki
Motorcycle: Nichilas Robinson (Stockbridge); 2009 Honda
Cruiser: Bobby Copeland (McDonough); HD 05 FXDL
ATV/Dirt Bike: Rob Allsop (Winston); Yamaha

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1930s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Below is a complete list of the May 13 winners:

Classic Custom (Through 1972)
First Place: Scott Fuqua (Locust Grove), '57 Chevrolet Pick Up
Second Place: Stacy Dutton (Griffin), 1952 Studebaker

Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Andrew Kerun (Griffin), 1996 Ford Bronco
Second Place: George Vogt (McDonough), 1979 Chevrolet Corvette

Current Custom (2000 through current)
First Place: Suzy Russell (Brooks), 2007 Ford Mustang

Showroom Classic (Through 1972)
First Place: Dennis Gibson (Stockbridge), 1966 Oldsmobile Cutlass
Second Place: Bill & Denise Davis (Covington), 1968 Mercury Cyclone GT
Third Place: Scott Conaway (Griffin), 1957 Chevy

Showroom Modern (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Chris Gallagher (Fayetteville), 1998 Trans Am
Second Place: Logan Williamson (Georgia), Chevrolet Corvette 40th Anniversary Edition

Showroom Current (2000 through current)
First Place: James White (Covington); 2010 Chevrolet Camaro
Second Place: Dyrant Hardwick (Atlanta); 2014 Cadillac CTS
Third Place: Danny Meyers (Fayetteville); 2016 Chevrolet Corvette

First Place: Levi Hill (Locust Grove); Mazda
Second Place: Adam Wallace (McDonough); 2007 Mini Cooper
Third Place: Joel Barrios (Hampton); 2013 Honda Civic

First Place: Montana Morris (Fayette); 2004 Jeep Wrangler
Second Place: Kevin Lewis (Griffin); 2003 Ford F-250
Third Place: Chris Johnson (McDonough); 2012 Ford F-150

First Place: Jose Lopez (Griffin); 2011 Freightliner Coronado
Second Place: Daniel Patterson, Sr. (Tyrone); 1995 Harley-Davidson Fat Boy
Third Place: Terry Sark(Conyers); 2001 Harley-Davidson

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine continues with Week 4, the final tune-up race before the point season begins on May 20. Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m., and nightly drag race eliminations start after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets are just $8, and children 5 and under are free. More information can be found at www.atlantamotorspeedway.com/drags or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211