As the 2018 O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags season winds down, drivers frantically search for any opportunity to pick up ground on their fellow competitors.

With only four races remaining entering Friday night's action, Wayne Harris and his 1968 Chevrolet Camaro looked to regain the points lead in the Harbin's Mechanical Services Street Outlaw Division.

In the final run of the night in the division, it looked like Harris was beat as he was slow off the line. Harris knew what he was doing and after he hooked up with the track, was able to shift gears and drive past the 2017 Chevrolet COPO Camaro of Mike Moore of Peachtree City for the win.

"Every time we've run against each other this year, I've had his number," said Harris. "I turned it down off the line so I could hook. I ran him down at the end of the strip. When I changed gears, I just went by him."

While the Street Outlaw Division is separated by fewer than points, Brandon Sampler along with Jody Scott have piloted the 1995 Chevrolet S-10 to a dominating performance this season in the Street Performer class.

"Tonight went really well, it was a good night," said Scott. "The truck is doing really well. Had a pretty hot burnout earler tonight and the tires aren't sticking as well as they normally do, but overall it was enough for the win."

Scott was also able to pick up the Peach Pass Burn Out Zone win as well as a used his first round bye to burn down his tires and post the best smoke show of the night.

"Right before I pulled up to the burnout box, one of the track officials walked up to me and said 'put on a good show, you are in the burnout contest tonight' so it went well," said Scott. "It was a good burnout. The truck felt good and we had a good night."

While Scott was burning down his tires, Steve Schaffer of Newnan and his 2018 Chevrolet Corvette found victory Lane for the first time in the point season in the New Edge Division. Schafer took out the 2007 Corvette of Jordan Wesley of Williamson in the final round for the win.

Other notable winners include Kevin Mayo behind the wheel of the 1974 Chevrolet Nova in the Quiktrip Pro Division. Richard Corcoran of Locust Grove notch his second consecutive win of the season and his fourth overall to take a commanding lead in the Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman Division

Below is a list of the Aug. 3 race winners:

Super Pro: Arnie Cobb (Locust Grove); 1974 Chevrolet Nova
QuikTrip Pro: Kevin Mayo (McDonough; 1969 Chevy Nova
Harbin's Mechanical Services Street Outlaw: Wayne Harris (Griffin); 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
Summit Racing Equipment Sportsman: Richard Corcoran (Locust Grove); 1986 Ford Mustang
New Edge: Steve Schaffer (Newnan); 2018 Chevrolet Corvette
Street Performer: Jody Scott (Griffin); 1995 Chevrolet S10
Harding Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Domestic: Kelly Morgan (Jonesboro), 1968 Ford Mustang
Diamond Resorts Factory Street: Michael Hartley (McDonough); 2013 Ford Mustang
Starfire Automatic Gates Truck: Ed Blanford (McDonough); 1968 Ford F100
Tuner: Steven Mallett (Marietta); 2004 Subaru WRX
Sport Compact: Heather Utt (Fayetteville); 2014 Ford Mustang
Super Bike: Robin Malcolm (Lithonia); 2003 Busa
Sport Bike: Bryan Berube (Stockbridge); 2013 Suzuki Hayabusa
US Marines Motorcycle: Keith Stamps (Tyrone); 2002 Honda
Cruiser: Billy Mueller (Stockbridge); 2006 Harley Davidson
ATV/Jr. Dragsters: Gracie Haralson (Hampton); 2005 Mov. Tub Jr.
Peach Pass Burnout Zone: Jody Scott (Griffin); 1995 Chevrolet S10

The Show-N-Shine competition featured everything from new imports to classic muscle cars and automobiles ranging as far back as the 1930s. Those vehicles then took part in the Speedway Cruise following judging.

Classic Custom (Through 1972)
First Place: Randy Gordy (Sharpsburg), 1955 Chevrolet Z10
Second Place: Jon Davis (Senoia), 1964 Galaxie
Third Place: Donnie Henderson (Hampton), 1966 Ford Fairlane
Showroom Modern (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Chris Gallagher (Fayetteville), 1998 Pontiac Trans Am 
Second Place: Daniel Garrett (Griffin), 2017 Chevrolet Camaro 
Third Place: Patrick Alexander (Tyrone), 1990 Jaguar ZJS v12
Modern Custom (1973 through 1999)
First Place: Mike Harrington (Locust Grove), Pontiac G8 GXP
Second Place: Brandon Conaway (Griffin), 1999 Ford Mustang

Current (2000 through current)
First Place: Andrea Lawson (Jackson), 2018 Ford Mustang GT 
Second Place:Tanya Moore (Griffin), Nissan 350z
Third Place: Ariel Pike (Peachtree City), Dodge Charger
First Place: Andrew Smith (McDonough), 1987 Mazda B2000
Second Place: Paul Kocsis (Fayetteville), 2004 Ford F-250 
Third Place: Brooke Dove (Jersey), 1966 Ford F-100
First Place: Andy Sarratt (Social Circle), 1971 VW Ray Rod 
Second Place: Dalton Leverette (Pike County), Outlaw Late Model
Third Place: Andrew Bubba (Hampton), Harley Davidson Ultra Classic
Showroom Classic (Through 1972)
First Place: Jeff Mueller (Locust Grove), 1930 Model A

Atlanta Motor Speedway's O'Reilly Auto Parts Friday Night Drags & Show-N-Shine returns to the pit lane drag strip next Friday, Aug. 10 and features the Pro Bike Challenge with Nitro Bikes taking on the Pit Lane Drag Strip. Grandstand gates open at 6:30 p.m., and nightly drag race eliminations start just after 9:00 p.m.

Entry to drag race or for the Show-N-Shine is just $20 or competitors can purchase a combo ticket for $30. Spectator tickets are just $10, and children 5 and under are free. More information can be found at or by calling the Atlanta Motor Speedway Ticket Office at (770) 946-4211.